How I Read | Book Tag

I was [sort of] tagged by McKenzie at Bookish Things and Tea. Which is a lovely blog that y’all should check out. This seemed like a fun get-to-know-ya sort of thing, so here we are.

How do you find out about good books to read?

Extensive Google searches. When I was kid and still had a library card I would dick around in the YA section for hours reading the back of every single book with a marginally interesting title. By the time I had maxed out everyone’s library cards with late fees, I was in high school and could get great books from my teachers and friends. And then I worked in a book store for a little while. Now that I’ve built up knowledge about what i like and don’t like, I’ve turned internet searching into an art form.

How did you get into reading?

I have kind of a weird story. I used to hate reading. I could only stomach Junie B. Jones and Captain Underpants. Then two things happened in fourth grade. First, I read an amazing book called Bud, Not Buddy and discovered the historical fiction genre. Second, I read a not-so-amazing book called Twilight and discovered the fantasy genre. Everything was downhill (or should I say uphill?) from there.

How has your tastes in books changed as you’ve gotten older?

I used to be all over those teeny-bopper romance books. I was a lonely kid, and I’ve also been a giant sap. I thought they are immature and stupid, but I loved every second of them. My love for them has dwindled considerably as I’ve learned more about literature and found things that tug at my heart at much deeper levels than the surface stuff I was finding in those bad love stories.

How often do you buy books?

When I worked at that book store, it was something like once a week. But one day I looked around and realized I have over a hundred books on my shelve that I had yet to read. So now I pretty much buy books for school, unless I got a really good paycheck and have decided to treat myself.

How did you get into book reviewing?

I have a lot of opinions and writing is really the only way I know how to communicate. As they say, one thing led to another.

How do you react when you don’t like the end of a book?

Have you seen Silver Lining’s Playbook?

No, I don’t think I could bring myself to throw a book like that. I shut the book very carefully and set it aside and then I start yelling about it at whoever happens to be nearest to me at the time. Lately, my roommate.

How often to do you take a sneak peak at the ending to see if there is a happy ending?

I have this secret love of looking at the last line of a book before I read the first line. I don’t know why I do it, and I don’t do it for every book. Sometimes I will just absently open the book to the end and see what’s there.

I TAG…

This is a very old tag, I’ve been told, so if you’re reading this consider yourself tagged.

2 thoughts on “How I Read | Book Tag

Leave a Reply

