SOS: I Have Reader’s Block

This post is day 3 of the 30 day challenge. For the rest of the challenge, click here.


Help Me

I haven’t been able to get through a whole book – or even a quarter of a book, really – since the summer when I read Jazz by Toni Morrison. It’s an incredible book, by the way, and told from the point of view of jazz music (though this is never explicitly stated), which makes it quite an interesting read as well.

[Edit: I’m a liar, the last book I read was The Gunslinger by Stephen King. I was really into it until the last chapter when the entire story came to a standstill. Still, a great read.]

Since then, I have been stuck.

This is not the first time this has happened to me. You could say I’ve been in a rut since high school. I had quite the anxiety disorder in high school and, once reading became associated with the stress of school, it was over for me.

For those going through the same thing, I stand with you in solidarity. I wish I could help you, but I honestly can’t. For those who might be able to help:

How the holy heck do you beat reader’s block?

This was not, initially, meant to be a cry for help. I did mean to discuss how reader’s block might happen and look within myself, and of course the internet, to find ways to beat it. But, alas, most resources only discuss whether or not this thing exists. And I can tell you from first hand experience, it exists. 

So: Have you ever gone through reader’s block? How did you beat it? Leave me a comment and let me know what you think!

6 thoughts on “SOS: I Have Reader’s Block

  1. Oh man… I have gone through phases where I pick a book and I find myself just not being sucked in, easily distracted by my phone or iPad. And in those cases I either A) put all electronic devices away and turn the tv off and really just try to get though at least a chapter. Or B) find a new, more enthralling book.
    I’m always able to move past it and read the dang thing. Hopefully you can too, because there’s a world of good books out there!!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I found I had this problem during college, I didn’t have the energy to read after a day full of classes, homework, work, and rehearsals. Pretty well I just forced myself to sit down and read the book I’d currently started. I read a few pages every day and eventually I hit a point where I didn’t want to put the book down anymore. I don’t like to give up on books part way through so even when I’m feeling like this I aways force myself to keep going with my current read. Sometimes I do need to take a break and pick up something “lighter” to read. This is usually a cheesy romance novel that I don’t need to put to much of my mind into while I read and that helps get me back into a reading mood. I hope some of that helps, good luck finding the reading bug again!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Oh yeah, college presented a problem for me. I was able to get through one book using a similar method – reading just a bit at a time until I’d read enough to be able to stick with it. Maybe I’ll try that again! I could also try picking up a new YA book – I know there are a ton of really good ones out there. Thanks!

      Liked by 1 person

      • Depending what you’re reading a YA book might be a good idea. I find I get into this mood when I’ve been reading a lot of “heavy” books–stories that require a lot of focus and thought to read. So picking up something different and then going back to the heavier book usually helps me.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

