Literary Tropes Book Tag

We all have or most hated – and most beloved – literary tropes. So why not turn it into a bookish tag?

Rules

  • Mention the creator (that’s me!)
  • Thank the blogger who tagged you
  • Fill out the tag (obviously)
  • Tag some people!

Love Triangle – your two favorite books, and why you can’t (or can) choose between them

The Shadow of the Wind by Carlos Ruiz Zafon and The Perks of Being a Wallflower by Stephen Chbosky

Let me just state for the record that I absolutely hate love triangles. I think they’re completely ridiculous and they completely, 100% turn me off from any prospective reads. That said, I can’t choose between these two books. They both mean so much to me. One is a matter of connecting to my own struggles with mental illness and abuse, and the other is a matter of connecting to my heart as a reader and a writer. They’re completely different, and I love the both of them with all my heart.

Insta-love – the book you loved from the moment you met

9780062003218_custom-ed9be8cfb39c77f3e78eef4d7fcc0d16ddd845e5-s300-c85

How to Be Black by Baratunde Thurston

I’ve barely even met this book and I love it with every fiber of my being. From the moment I saw it on the shelf at Powell’s in Portland, I knew. It was meant to be. I didn’t actually venture to read the book until some months later (ahem, currently reading), and I can say with confidence that my gut did not let me down.

Life changing precocious child/quirky character  a book that changed your life

368468

Bud, Not Buddy by Christopher Paul Curtis 

This right here is the book that made me a reader and set me on a path for the rest of my life. That is, my path to becoming a writer. Still on the path, but, hey, aren’t we all?

Male writer poorly describing a character who is a woman – Some of the most disappointing writing you’ve ever come across

divergent_book_by_veronica_roth_us_hardcover_2011

Divergent by Veronica Roth

Whoa, shots fired! Am I right? Ahem. Let me just say, I’ve encountered at least one book that disappointed me far more than Divergent did. But I hated that book so much I’ve purged it from my memory. I don’t think Divergent was bad per say, I just really, really disliked the main character. And I am such a character person it just threw the whole book off for me.

Detailed description of the main character in a mirror -your favorite book covers

7507908

The Replacement by Brenna Yovanoff

This is easily one of my favorite book covers. I’m sure I have more, but this was the first and only book to come to mind.

The chosen one – pick a favorite literary character

asunder

Dragon Age: Asunder by David Gaider

This is where video game novelizations come in handy, no? My favorite fictional character of all time is Cole from the Dragon Age video game franchise. He first appeared in the above novel, which served as a sort of prequel to the third game. Cole is a spirit of compassion, which really resonates with my damaged ass. Also, he is my son and must be protected at all costs.

Magical Negroes and Noble Savages – diverse and inclusive alternatives to to racist tropes

I recently made a list of 30 Inclusive Books You Should Read Right Now, which includes racial, sexual, and gender diversity. Enjoy!

That’s my tag! Now, to tag some people:

As always, if you aren’t tagged but still want to do the tag, be my guest! Consider yourself tagged.

Have you read any of the books I’ve discussed here? Do they appear on your TBR? Drop me a comment and let’s talk about them!

7 thoughts on “Literary Tropes Book Tag

  1. Thanks so much for the tag!! You did a fantastic job creating this, and it was so much fun to read! There are a lot of tropes in books nowadays and some of them are just crazy. I think you did a good job of picking out a few interesting ones. Fantastic answers, and it might be a little while before I get to this since I’m ridiculously behind but it seems like so much fun! Thanks again!

    Liked by 1 person

    • You’re very welcome! You always have really good answers to book tags, so i wanted to see what you would come up with for this one. =] Also, thanks so much! I look forward to seeing your answers.

      Like

  2. Pingback: The Unique Blogger Award – Book Princess Reviews

  3. This is a great tag! 🙂 I actually haven’t read any of the books mentioned, except for Divergent, which I read and thought “Wow, this is crappy writing”. But I do have The Perks of Being a Wallflower in my TBR. I’ve been postponing reading it as I feel it might be a bit depressing, if the movie was any indication.
    The Replacement’s cover is insanely creepy. I like it!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

