The Candy Book Tag

I found this book tag at Birdie Bookworm. It’s a lovely blog that I’ve only recently discovered, and I’m glad I did! Definitely make sure you check it out.

Please note: I, too, have stolen these cute graphics for the tag. They are wonderful and I love them, but I didn’t create them!


a

51GfkFJuPCL._SX322_BO1,204,203,200_

The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern.

This is undeniably a great book. The plotting is just short of genius and the writing – oh, the writing. But this book really pissed me off. I couldn’t connect with the majority of the characters, the sex scene was truly atrocious, and some plot points had me screaming ‘for fuck’s sake!’ in public places. One top of that, the author didn’t even use the historical setting beyond aesthetic. I can’t with this book.

And the thing is, I really wanted to love it. I love fantasy, I love ensemble pieces of complex plots, and this book have been recommended to me over and over again. But in the end, it just really wasn’t for me.

campture1

51naG-FeFpL._SY344_BO1,204,203,200_The Shadow of the Wind by Carlos Ruiz Zafon.

This is one of my all-time favorite books. The reason I would recommend it to any reader is this: it is, quite simply, a love letter to books.

This book has got almost everything. It’s not nearly as gay or diverse as I tend to like to see in my books, but it is:

  • Historical fiction
  • Actually genius
  • Beautifully written
  • Filled with amazing characters
  • Actually genius

If you’re reading this, please put The Shadow of the Wind on your TBR. If you have already read this book, let’s talk about it! Seriously none of my friends have read it and it kills me every day.

cabcture

twilightbookTwilight by Stephenie Meyer.

I know this is a beloved series, and I know how much it hurts to see a book you love totally shit on, but I fucking hate Twilight. The central relationships Bella has – with both Edward and Jacob – are unhealthy to the point of being abusive. Edward literally breaks into her car and makes it nonfunctional just so she won’t go to see someone he doesn’t like. What the actual fuck. You know who does that? Abusers. Abusers do that.

There was a time in my life where I loved this series, but then I woke up and realized that this is not what a healthy relationship looks like. As a survivor of abuse, fuck this series. From the bottom of my heart. Just. Fuck it.

ccapture

51qQ5sxY6HL._SY344_BO1,204,203,200_North of Beautiful by Justina Chen Headley.

Now this is how you write a romance. There were a number of books I could have chosen, but this one has always stuck out to me. Because the leads are very different, and come from very different worlds, but they fundamentally understand each other. They start as friends, and their relationship sort of goes from there. It all plays out very naturally and takes great pains to point out when something unhealthy happens between the two of them. I love it.

 

capgture

9780307947291_p0_v1_s192x300Grey Matter by Stephen King.

This is a short story in his collection Night Shift, and it really fucked me up. It is the only horror I’ve ever read that really messed with me, and that kind of makes me love it even more.

 

cjapture

71ptfhgn4clJane Eyre by Charlotte Bronte.

I love this book. I loved almost every single second of this book. But it took me months to read it. THis was at the height of my struggled with ADHD, so I could only reasonably read a little bit at a time. But when I finally got through it, it was so worth it.

 

capcture1

the_fault_in_our_starsThe Fault in Our Stars by John Green.

This is a sap-filled book with a lot of cliches and some truly problematic moments (I’m lookin at you, Anne Frank house kiss). But damn it if I don’t love the hell out of this book.

 

 

 

 

 

 


Anyone who thinks this looks fun: consider yourself tagged! I look forward to seeing your answers.

Leave a Reply

